Chapter News: Wild Rose

IAP2 Wild Rose and the Canadian Trainers Collective are pleased to be able to sponsor Megan Mucignat to attend a session of the IAP2 Planning for Effective Public Participation course. The three-day module provides an introduction to the IAP2 Foundations in Effective Participation program providing a deep understanding of meaningful stakeholder engagement. This is the first time IAP2 Wild Rose has sponsored a student to attend the course. Ms Mucignat’s application was selected amongst numerous entries. She is enrolled in a Master of Planning program at the University of Calgary. She has a strong interest in facilitation and engagement practices that contribute to community development and neighbourhood planning, represents students on the EVDS Student Association at U of C and is an active participant in the Hillhurst Sunnyside Community Association’s Planning Committee.

Signature Event Wrap-up

On behalf of the 2015 Signature Event Committee, we would like to say a sincere thank-you to the participants, the speakers, venue hosts and everyone who made this years’ event a success. In just one day, 50 stakeholder engagement professionals networked, shifted their outlook with Kairos Creative Solutions, took on risk with the Alberta Energy Regulator, got creative with Urban Systems, and learned how to leverage mainstream media with Zerr Communications Inc.

We also hosted our 2015 AGM and would like to take this time to thank our outgoing board members, and congratulate our new board members!  We were overwhelmed by the number of people stepping forward and were able to fill all the positions on the board, including one Youth Director.  The board of directors will be meeting for an annual planning retreat later in June – we look forward to sharing the outcomes and plans for the coming year!

2015/16 Wild Rose Board of Directors:

  • Amanda Kaiser, President
  • Kevin Thorvaldson, Vice President
  • Elissa Cook, Secretary
  • Gay Robinson Treasurer
  • Paula Kupchak Hall, Past President (one-year term)
  • Lauren Bartlette, Director
  • Jason Veness, Director
  • Doug Downs, Director
  • Mike Coldwell, Director
  • Jeff Hohn, Director
  • Liz Armitage, Director
  • Jennifer Wells, Director
  • Dave Pascut, Director
  • Rebecca McElhoes, Director 
  • Mariel Higuerey, Youth Director (non-voting)

One of the challenges posed to the participants throughout the event was to “sign up for something” and we continue to encourage you to do just that!

There are many opportunities to be involved with the Wild Rose chapter of IAP2. Current committees include:

  • Communications
  • Professional development
  • Outreach
  • Membership

To find out more about these opportunities email  Also stay tuned on the official website for speaker notes, board bios and various updates.

Join us for the Next Edmonton Coffee Klatsch

We are going to focus the conversation on making public engagement inclusive. Please join us for this informal get-together where we share experiences, challenges and ideas to learn from each other. It is a great opportunity to meet other people working in public participation in a casual setting. We hope to see you at the Jasper Ave & 109 Street Starbucks on Thursday, June 18 at 9:30am!


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s