Sign up now for the 2016 IAP2 Canada Mentorship Program!

Are you new to the practice of public participation? Do you have years of experience and are eager to pass it on? If so, you’ll want to consider the IAP2 Canada Mentorship Program!

First launched in 2013, the Mentorship Program provides an opportunity for relative newcomers to the field (protégés) to learn from the experience of seasoned practitioners (mentors), and the mentors report that they’ve found it’s a two-way “learning street”. It’s only available to IAP2 Canada members and a typical cycle consists of up to nine mentor-protégé pairs.

The reviews have been enthusiastic from mentors and protégés alike:

“It was a terrific opportunity to learn and share with another P2 practitioner. My mentor and I formed a great partnership and I hope that we will keep in touch!”

“As a person who had two months of P2 experience prior to starting this mentorship. I have come away with more knowledge and confidence about what my role is. And I have a new connection and friendship!”

“Working with my mentor, I was really able to trouble-shoot and get into the weeds of various projects. My mentor was also willing to share how she dealt with various scenarios and even shared some of her own materials, which was very generous.  One day I hope to pay-it-forward by being a mentor myself.”

“This is my second year [as a mentor] and I have enjoyed year two even more than year one which is really satisfying and encouraging. I believe there is a benefit to mentors staying with the program more than one year if possible as we hone our mentorship skills!”

“As a seasoned practitioner, I find it very helpful to talk about the practice with someone fairly new to the field. The new practitioners have a fresh perspective that makes me better at what I do.”

The IAP2 Canada Mentorship Program meets IAP2’s Code of Ethics: “Support of the Practice”.
The next cycle begins in February, so better hurry! The deadline for applications is January 15. 
Click here for more information.

Leave a Reply

